Best MREs for Storm Prep in 2026: Civilian Cases, Self-Heating Meals and Freeze-Dried Pouches

Which case to put in the closet for a week without power, which meals heat themselves, and what the makers actually claim about shelf life.

Prepped Gear is reader-supported. When you buy through links on this site we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. See our Disclosure for details.
Ration pouches, a canned meal, a camp stove and a steel cup spread out on a camouflage tarp

For a week without power after a hurricane or ice storm, the Sopakco Sure-Pak reduced sodium case is the MRE we would buy first: 14 ready-to-eat meals from a maker that publishes its shelf life data. If you want a hot meal with no gear at all, the aPack Ready Meal case from AmeriQual heats itself, and AmeriQual says the entree is ready in 10 to 12 minutes. The MRE Star 12 pack is the closest thing to a complete military ration sold new to civilians, heaters included. Heaven's Harvest covers single self-heating meals for the car, and for a family with a camp stove and stored water, Mountain House, Peak Refuel and ReadyWise freeze-dried pouches fit more meals in the closet, at the cost of needing hot water.

Light, water and phone power are in the power outage kit checklist, and the rest of our storm prep guides cover the house. This one is about day three, when the fridge is warm and the gas stations are dark.

What an MRE is, and what a civilian MRE is

A military MRE is a sealed retort pouch of cooked food, plus sides, a drink mix, an accessory pack and a flameless ration heater, packed to survive a truck ride and years in a warehouse. Sopakco and AmeriQual both sell rations to civilians under their own brands, and smaller companies like MRE Star assemble civilian kits.

The military cases on Amazon with "2026 inspection" in the title are surplus, resold with no record of how they were stored first. The civilian lines here are the makers' own products with a stated pack date, which matters for food you may be eating three years from now.

Four things that decide which one to buy

Heat or no heat

Every retort pouch meal is fully cooked and safe to eat cold. Cold spaghetti on night four is miserable, though. Your options are a flameless ration heater (a water-activated pad in a sleeve), a self-heating kit with the heater built in, or a pot of water on a camp stove outside. Pick the meal around which of those you will actually do, and read the CDC warning in the questions below before you heat anything indoors.

Shelf life as the maker states it

Retort meals have no expiration date, only a pack date, and shelf life depends on storage temperature. Sopakco publishes the numbers it uses: 5.5 years at 70 F, 4 years at 80 F, 2.5 years at 90 F, and 1.5 years at 100 F, from a Natick study it says is not a guarantee. Store MREs inside, and treat any shelf life figure as the maker's claim under the maker's conditions.

Calories and sodium, as the maker states them

Military style meals are built for hard work in the field: Sopakco says its meals run 900 to 1,250 calories and that military MREs average 1,250, and MRE Star says about 1,200 on average. AmeriQual markets its civilian line as reduced sodium. We are not going to tell you what to eat; we will tell you what the maker prints.

Meals per case and how much you need

AmeriQual says two of its meals meet an individual's full daily calorie needs, so two meals per person per day is a workable planning figure. For four people for three days that is 24 meals, two cases. Ready.gov asks for a several-day supply of food that needs no refrigeration, cooking or special preparation. Most households mix: one case of MREs for the hot meal each evening, and pantry food for the rest.

Sopakco Sure-Pak Reduced Sodium case

Sopakco Sure-Pak Reduced Sodium MRE Case

Main Household Case

Sopakco Sure-Pak Reduced Sodium MRE Case

  • 14 meals, pack date 8/23 or newer
  • 900 to 1,250 calories per meal per Sopakco
  • Up to 5 years storage, temperature dependent, per Sopakco
  • Four digit pack date code on the case, per Sopakco

The maker-direct civilian case for a family riding out a week without power at home.

Check price on Amazon

Sold by MRE Super GIANT (third party seller)

Sopakco is a South Carolina company with an address in Mullins, per its site, and Sure-Pak is its civilian line. This Amazon case is a reduced sodium case of 14 meals with a pack date of August 2023 or newer, and the entrees vary from box to box. Sopakco sells its meals with and without ration heaters, so look for heaters when you open the case and do not count on a hot meal until you have.

Who it suits: a household that wants a maker's product with published shelf life data. What it does badly: variety, since the entrees change with each production run, and the heater question above. Sold through a third party seller, MRE Super GIANT, not by Amazon or Sopakco.

MRE Star 12 pack with heaters

MRE Star Complete Meal Case, 12 Pack with Heaters

Full Ration Kit

MRE Star Complete Meal Case, 12 Pack with Heaters

  • 12 meals, 6 menus x 2 per MRE Star
  • About 1,200 calories per meal on average per MRE Star
  • 8 oz entree plus flameless heater in every meal
  • 16 lb case, 16 x 12 x 10 in per MRE Star

The closest thing to a full military ration sold new, coffee and drink mix included.

Check price on Amazon

Sold by SAFECASTLE (third party seller)

MRE Star's M-018H case is the closest thing to a full military ration you can buy new: 12 complete meals in six menus, two of each, averaging about 1,200 calories per meal according to MRE Star. Each meal has an 8 ounce entree, a starch (two military crackers or two tortillas), a snack, a cookie, a drink mix, an accessory pack with a spoon, coffee, sugar, creamer, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, a wet napkin and candy, and its own flameless heater. The case weighs 16 pounds and measures 16 by 12 by 10 inches per MRE Star. MRE Star's page gives no shelf life figure, so write the pack date on the box and rotate it.

Who it suits: anyone who wants the heater included and the whole meal in one bag, coffee too. What it does badly: the entrees are 8 ounces, and MRE Star publishes no shelf life, where Sopakco publishes a full table. Sold by SAFECASTLE, a third party seller, not by Amazon or MRE Star.

aPack Ready Meal self-heating case

aPack Ready Meal Self-Heating Variety Case

Self-Heating Case

aPack Ready Meal Self-Heating Variety Case

  • 12 meals, 6 varieties per AmeriQual
  • Entree ready in 10 to 12 minutes per AmeriQual
  • Self-heating sleeve, no stove needed
  • Marketed as reduced sodium by AmeriQual

A hot meal with no stove, no pot and no separate heater, for whoever will be home alone.

Check price on Amazon

Sold by aPack

aPack Ready Meal is the civilian line from AmeriQual Group, per the maker's product page. The case is 12 meals in six varieties, each with a fully cooked entree in a self-heating sleeve, sides and a dessert. Pour water on the heater pad and the entree is ready in 10 to 12 minutes per AmeriQual; its heating page says approximately 12 minutes to reach 100 F. AmeriQual says two meals meet a person's full daily calorie needs and markets the line as reduced sodium. The seller on Amazon is aPack itself. AmeriQual's pages give no shelf life figure for the case, so write the pack date on the box.

Who it suits: anyone who wants a hot meal with no stove, no pot and no separate heater to find in the dark; it is the case we would hand to an older parent riding out an ice storm alone. What it does badly: AmeriQual's heating page says to use it in a well-ventilated area on a heat-safe surface, to keep it away from children, and that it does not produce carbon monoxide but may set off a CO detector. The CDC takes a harder line on flameless chemical heaters (see the questions below), so heat it outdoors or on a covered porch and carry it in.

Heaven's Harvest self-heating meal kit

Heaven's Harvest Self-Heating Meal Kit, Breakfast Skillet 6 Pack

Single Self-Heating Meals

Heaven's Harvest Self-Heating Meal Kit, Breakfast Skillet 6 Pack

  • 6 single-serving kits
  • Nearly 500 calories per kit per Heaven's Harvest
  • Add 1.5 cups of water per Heaven's Harvest
  • Mylar foil packaging per Heaven's Harvest

One-person self-heating meals for a car kit or a relative who does not need a 12 meal case.

Check price on Amazon

Sold by Heaven's Harvest

Heaven's Harvest sells single-serving self-heating kits rather than a case of mixed menus, and the Breakfast Skillet 6 pack is the one we picked. Heaven's Harvest says each kit is a single-serving meal of nearly 500 calories in a mylar foil bag, and to add 1 1/2 cups of water to start the heater. Its collection page gives no shelf life or heating time for these kits, so write the pack date on the box and rotate them.

Who it suits: one or two people or a car kit, where a 12 meal case is too much. What it does badly: one menu per 6 pack, and the same indoor-heater caution as the aPack applies. Sold by Heaven's Harvest.

The freeze-dried alternative

Freeze-dried pouches are lighter, pack more meals into a closet, and carry longer shelf life claims than retort meals. The catch is water: every pouch needs hot water, which means stored water and a way to boil it. If you have a camp stove and a case of water, this is the better route per meal. If you do not, stick with MREs.

Mountain House Beef Lasagna, 2 pack

Mountain House Beef Lasagna, 4 Servings, 2 Pack

Freeze-Dried Family Pouch

Mountain House Beef Lasagna, 4 Servings, 2 Pack

  • 2 pouches, 4 servings each
  • 30 Year Taste Guarantee per Mountain House
  • Just add hot water, per Mountain House
  • Freeze-dried

The standard freeze-dried pouch for a family that has a camp stove and stored water.

Check price on Amazon

Sold by Mountain House Freeze Dried Foods

Mountain House's pouches are the standard freeze-dried meal, and this pack is two 4 serving family pouches. Mountain House advertises a 30 year taste guarantee and says its meals are ready in minutes by adding hot water. Sold by Mountain House Freeze Dried Foods.

Peak Refuel Entree Variety Pack

Peak Refuel Entree Variety Pack, 20 Pouches

Freeze-Dried Variety

Peak Refuel Entree Variety Pack, 20 Pouches

  • 20 pouches, 4 each of 5 entrees
  • 10 year unopened shelf life per Peak Refuel
  • 100% real meat per Peak Refuel
  • Freeze-dried and packaged in USA per Peak Refuel

Higher protein freeze-dried entrees for a week at home or a trip, if you can boil water.

Check price on Amazon

Sold by Peak Refuel

Peak Refuel's variety pack is 20 pouches, four each of Chicken Pesto Pasta, Beef Pasta Marinara, Chicken Alfredo Pasta, Beef Stroganoff and Sweet Pork and Rice. Peak Refuel's FAQ states an unopened shelf life of 10 years, says the meals are made with 100% real meat, and says everything is freeze-dried and packaged in the USA. Sold by Peak Refuel.

ReadyWise 72 Hour Emergency Food Supply

ReadyWise 72 Hour Emergency Food Supply, 30 Servings

Freeze-Dried Kit

ReadyWise 72 Hour Emergency Food Supply, 30 Servings

  • 30 servings, 72 hour kit
  • Up to 25 year shelf life, per ReadyWise
  • Easy to prepare, just add water, per ReadyWise

A small freeze-dried kit for one person's three days, or a first freeze-dried purchase.

Check price on Amazon

Sold by ReadyWise, Inc.

ReadyWise sells a 72 hour food kit of 30 servings in freeze-dried pouches, in a box small enough for a closet shelf or a go bag. ReadyWise's site claims up to a 25 year shelf life and says its food is easy to prepare by adding water. Who it suits: one person's three-day backup, or a first freeze-dried purchase to see whether your family will eat it. What it does badly: like every pouch here it needs water, so check the box for the menu before you count on it. Sold by ReadyWise, Inc.

Who freeze-dried suits: a family with a camp stove and a week of stored water (see our water storage guide). Who should skip it: anyone whose water plan is a case of bottles, because every pouch you eat is two cups you cannot drink.

How the cases compare

ProductTypeMeals per packHeatShelf life, as the maker states itBest for
Sopakco Sure-Pak Reduced SodiumRetort MRE14Check the case for heatersUp to 5 years, temperature dependent, per SopakcoMain household case
MRE Star 12 packRetort MRE, full kit12, 6 menusFRH in every mealNot statedComplete ration with coffee and drink mix
aPack Ready MealRetort, self-heating12, 6 varietiesBuilt in, 10 to 12 min per AmeriQualNot statedHot meal with no gear
Heaven's Harvest Breakfast SkilletRetort, self-heating6 single kitsBuilt inNot statedCar kit, one or two people
Mountain House Beef Lasagna 2 packFreeze-dried2 pouches, 4 servings eachNeeds hot water30 year taste guarantee, per Mountain HouseFamilies with a stove and water
Peak Refuel Variety PackFreeze-dried20 pouchesNeeds hot water10 years unopened, per Peak RefuelHigher protein, trail and home
ReadyWise 72 Hour SupplyFreeze-dried30 servingsNeeds waterUp to 25 years, per ReadyWiseOne person, three days

What we left out, and why

  • Military surplus cases. Plenty are in stock, but the storage history is unknown and the menus are random.
  • Big freeze-dried buckets. They are the same food as the pouches above in a larger package, and most of a bucket is a commitment you cannot test first. Try a pouch.
  • Standalone surplus heaters. The CDC's indoor warning applies to a loose heater pack as much as to the heaters in the meals above, and you lose the meal that goes with it.

Storing and rotating a case in North Carolina

  • Keep it inside. Not the garage, the attic or the truck. Heat is what shortens the life of these meals.
  • Write the pack date on the box. Sopakco prints a four digit code on the bottom of the case: the first digit is the last digit of the year and the next three are the day of the year, so "4210" is the 210th day of 2024. Check your maker's key before you assume the same code. Write the plain date on the lid when it arrives.
  • Eat one a year. Open a meal every hurricane season and see if the family will actually eat it.
  • Do not freeze them. Sopakco says freezing can damage pouch seals.
  • Keep any heaters with the meals, in the same bin, with a headlamp on top.

Questions people ask about MREs

How long do MREs really last?

As long as the maker says under the maker's storage conditions. Sopakco's table runs from 5.5 years at 70 F to 1.5 years at 100 F. Nobody can tell you the life of a case that sat in a surplus warehouse first.

Can I eat an MRE cold?

Yes. Every retort meal here is fully cooked. Sopakco's meals are sold as ready to eat, and the other MRE-style cases here are sold as fully cooked, so a cold meal is safe if not pleasant. Warming a sealed pouch in a pot of hot water outdoors is the usual way to heat one without a heater.

Are self-heating meals safe indoors?

AmeriQual says its heater does not produce carbon monoxide, but to use it in a well-ventilated area on a heat-safe surface, and that it may set off a CO detector. Sopakco says its flameless self-heating option is not recommended for the young or elderly because of the risk of injury from high heat. The CDC's carbon monoxide page, though, says "Do not use portable flameless chemical heaters indoors," so the safest habit is to heat the pouch outdoors or on a covered porch and bring it in. Keep the generator and any gas heater outside too; the outage checklist covers that part.

MRE or freeze-dried for a hurricane kit?

MREs if you might evacuate or lose water service, because they need nothing. Freeze-dried if you are sheltering at home with stored water and a camp stove. A bug out bag gets no-cook food lighter than either.

How many should I store?

At two meals per person per day, a week for four people is 56 meals, four cases of 14. Most families store one case for hot dinners and fill the rest with pantry food.

Our pick, and why

Buy the Sopakco Sure-Pak reduced sodium case for the closet, check whether it includes heaters before you count on hot dinners, and put one aPack Ready Meal case in the kit of whoever in the family will be alone when the power goes out.

Sources

Ready to buy?

See current models and availability on Amazon. Your clicks keep these guides free.

Shop MREs on Amazon →